Français (French) English
ÉCOLE NATIONALE SUPÉRIEURE DES SCIENCES APPLIQUÉES ET DE TECHNOLOGIE

Potential careers in electronics

-> click to enlarge

Types of engineers

This job consists of developing new concepts for the implementation of a technology strategy. Once verified, the next stage of their work is to deal with patent right registration requirements before introducing the technology concept to relevant application end users. In addition to their technology observation activities, their role entails directly helping companies to introduce and circulate scientific and technical information.

They define, study and devise the prototypes and models of electronic materials or systems, within a project approach context, with a view to offering a new product to the market or improving an existing product.

They plan and organise the work of the different teams involved in the process of manufacturing an industrial product. They operate in a supervisory capacity for the entirety of the production process.

Professions

For tailored applications, the development engineer is often a member of a multidisciplinary project team and has the following key responsibilities:

  • defining the functional operating specifications of a computing application ;
  • selecting the most suitable equipment and work environment to maximise development output ;
  • designing software architecture; programming software components and managing the software system integration process ;
  • producing the technical and instructional documentation for end users.

Increasingly, these professions involve using existing solutions and centre around the interoperating compatibility of their component communication tools.

Industrial data processing constitutes an extremely vast field of different software applications ranging from all technical design, analysis and programming methods based on computer interfacing and electronic components. Its primary areas of focus are:

  • CAD (Computer Aided Design) to design complex systems ;
  • CAM (Computer Aided Manufacture) for programming and directing production machines ;
  • CAPM (Computer Aided Production Management) to manage and monitor the production cycle.

Industrial data engineers are tasked with designing and improving automated production systems. They build software requiring skills ranging from signal processing to artificial intelligence programming.

Embedded software represents an excellent example of technological software combining:

  • electronic components (programmable components, controllers, sensors, etc.);
  • real-time systems ;
  • wireless networks (Bluetooth, Wifi), mobile systems (GSM, UMTS, 4G, etc.);
  • software.

Embedded computer technology is ubiquitous in modern society: in smartphones, positioning and navigation systems, electronic money systems and cars to name just a few examples. Currently, this field is experiencing considerable growth within numerous application areas (security, health, environment, food safety, manufacturing, telecommunications, robotics, etc.).

Français (French)
ÉCOLE NATIONALE SUPÉRIEURE DES SCIENCES APPLIQUÉES ET DE TECHNOLOGIE

Débouchés en « Électronique »

-> cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Les types d'ingénieurs

Il met au point de nouveaux concepts pour la mise en œuvre d'une technologie stratégique. Après validation, il s'assure du transfert de cette technologie vers les unités concernées après avoir déposé les brevets nécessaires à la protection de la propriété industrielle. En complément à son activité de veille technologique, il intervient dans la circulation au sein de l'entreprise de l'information scientifique et technique.

Il définit, étudie, conçoit et valide les prototypes et maquettes d'un matériel électronique, ou d'un système, dans le cadre d'une approche par projets dans le but de préparer à l'industrialisation d'un nouveau produit, ou d'améliorer un produit existant.

Il planifie et organise le travail des différentes équipes intervenant dans le processus de réalisation d'un produit industriel. Il assure la fonction de supervision du processus complet de fabrication.

Les métiers

Pour des applications sur mesure, l'ingénieur de développement, souvent intégré à une équipe de projet pluridisciplinaire, assure :

  • la définition des spécifications fonctionnelles d'une application informatique ;
  • le choix des outils et les environnements de développement les mieux adaptés ;
  • la conception d'une architecture logicielle ;
  • la programmation de composants logiciels et leur intégration matérielle, logicielle et système ;
  • la documentation technique destinée aux utilisateurs et leur formation.

De plus en plus, ces métiers ont recours à des solutions existantes et traitent d'intégration de composants et d'interopérabilité des outils.

L'informatique industrielle constitue un domaine applicatif très vaste qui couvre l'ensemble des techniques de conception, d'analyse et de programmation de systèmes basés sur l'interfaçage de l'informatique avec des composants électroniques. Elle comprend principalement :

  • la CAO (Conception assistée par ordinateur) pour concevoir des systèmes complexes ;
  • la FAO (Fabrication assistée par ordinateur) pour programmer et commander les outils de production ;
  • la GPAO (Gestion de production assistée par ordinateur) pour gérer le suivi d'un cycle de production.

L'ingénieur en informatique industrielle a pour mission de concevoir et d'améliorer l'automatisation de systèmes de production. Il élabore des logiciels nécessitant des compétences allant du traitement du signal à l'intelligence artificielle.

L'informatique embarquée constitue un bon exemple d'informatique technologique intégrant :

  • des composants électroniques (composants programmables, contrôleurs, capteurs, etc.) ;
  • des systèmes temps réel ;
  • des réseaux sans fil (Bluetooth, WiFi), mobiles (GSM, UMTS, etc.) ;
  • des logiciels.

L'informatique embarquée est omniprésente : téléphone portable, PDA, GPS, monétique, sans oublier l'automobile. Actuellement, ce marché connaît une forte croissance dans de nombreux domaines d'applications (sécurité, santé, environnement, sécurité alimentaire, fabrication, télécommunications, robotique, etc.).