Français (French) English
ÉCOLE NATIONALE SUPÉRIEURE DES SCIENCES APPLIQUÉES ET DE TECHNOLOGIE

Internship abroad

Work placements abroad can be completed over a period of 2 to 3 months at the end of the 1st or 2nd years or as an end-of-studies placement (5 months). They may or may not be connected to a mobility period during the 3rd academic year. Another option is to complete a 9-12 month placement abroad during a gap year taken between the 2nd and 3rd years of the course.

Students benefit from the existing networks of former students working abroad and the partnerships between the school and research laboratories.

Financial assistance towards overseas studies

Enssat engineering-students may be eligible to receive grants contributing towards costs relating to studying abroad within an academic context. These grants are designed to assist students with additional expenses they incur whilst studying abroad. They are not to be used as a means of substituting normal subsistence costs.
In order to simplify the administrative formalities for our engineering students, a single application for assistance towards overseas costs is submitted to the International Relations secretarial team. The relevant information is then forwarded on to the Rennes 1 University International Projects Service. Depending on an individual's circumstances, different types of non-cumulative grants may be offered:

  • Erasmus grants
  • Ministry of Higher Education and Research grants
  • Brittany Regional Council Ulysse grants
  • Rennes 1 Foundation grants

The minimum eligibility duration of the work placement for all of these grants is 3 months with the exception of the  Ministry of Higher Education and Research grant (minimum duration of 2 months).

Personal account

Arnaud Peigné, ENSSAT engineering graduate (photonics speciality)

After spending two years completing my preparatory foundation degree, I began studying at ENSSAT specialising in photonics. The end of my 1st year at ENSSAT gave me my first opportunity to go abroad, in Ireland. I was extremely eager to gain first-hand experience of the research world, see how it works. This placement was the first of my course and it had a dual objective: meet the requirement to complete a work placement overseas and retain the opportunity to proceed with two additional « long term » industry placements (during the 2nd and 3rd years of the course). Why Ireland? Primarily because this English-speaking destination is very practical for a short-term placement and its laboratories are extremely active in photonics, my specialist field.

With regards to the method used to find my placement, I began by making a list of all research laboratories potentially likely to recruit a student from overseas. I later received a positive response from the Tyndall institute, a laboratory in Cork. This institute is a research laboratory specialising in photonics and microelectronics both of which are fields of expertise that fit perfectly with my studies at ENSSAT. I would strongly advise others to make a start with the search formalities as early as January and to spend time looking into the various existing connections that already are in place between ENSSAT teacher/researchers and counterparts in other institutions elsewhere. Doing this is hugely beneficial within the search process. This was the reason my application was successful: the FOTON laboratory had previously collaborated with the Tyndall institute.

The theme of my placement was focused on simulating the behavior patterns of semi-conductive lasers*. The experience was greatly enhanced by discovering laboratories and attending conferences. My work led me to write this brief note for students considering the possibility of doing a work placement in a specialised field of their choice. I encourage all those who remain unsure about the prospect of going abroad to experience life in a foreign country to go ahead. It will certainly prove to be a worthwhile. Immersing oneself in a different culture within the surroundings of a laboratory with different line management practices enables us to develop, in my opinion, a more « all-encompassing » global perspective.


* Study of the optical injection locking of semi-conductive lasers.

Contact

Claire Le Page

Head of international relations

resp.relations-internationales


Françoise Toupin

Secretary of international relations

(+33) / (0) 2 96 46 91 36

sec.relations-internationales

Agenda

Page  1 sur 2  > >>

Catégorie : General
Mardi 9 mai 2017 à 10h30, à l'Enssat (salle Jacques Le Squin, 020G)
Catégorie : General
Dimanche 14 mai 2017, 8h45 - Lannion

Partir faire son stage à l'étranger

Les stages à l'étranger peuvent être effectués sur une période de 2 à 3 mois en fin de 1re ou de 2e année ou correspondre au stage de fin d'études (5 mois), en lien ou non avec une mobilité académique en 3e année. Il est également envisageable de bénéficier d'une année de césure entre la 2e et la 3e année pour effectuer un stage d'une durée de 9 à 12 mois à l'étranger.

Aides financières à la mobilité internationale

Les élèves-ingénieurs de l'Enssat effectuant une mobilité internationale pour un stage peuvent bénéficier d'une aide financière à la mobilité. Cette aide a pour objet d'apporter une contribution aux frais supplémentaires entraînés par le séjour à l'étranger et ne prétend en aucun cas se substituer aux moyens réguliers de subsistance.
Dans un soucis de simplifier les démarches administratives aux élèves-ingénieurs de l'Enssat, un unique dossier de demande d'aide à la mobilité est à déposer au secrétariat des relations internationales, qui centralise les dossiers et fait le lien avec le Service des Affaires Internationales de l'Université de Rennes 1. En fonction des situations, divers types d'aides – non cumulables – peuvent être accordées :

  • Bourses Erasmus
  • Bourses du Ministère de l'Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche
  • Bourses Ulysse du Conseil Régional de Bretagne
  • Bourses de la Fondation Rennes 1

La durée minimale du stage est de 3 mois pour tous ces dispositifs à l'exception des bourses du MESR pour les étudiants boursiers où la durée minimale est de 2 mois.

Témoignage

Arnaud Peigné, ingénieur, diplômé Enssat de la spécialité photonique

Après mes deux années en classes préparatoires, j’ai intégré l’Enssat dans la spécialité photonique. La fin de ma première année d'études à l'Enssat a été marquée par une première expérience à l'international en Irlande. Je désirais avant tout découvrir le monde de la recherche et son fonctionnement. Ce stage fut le premier de mon cursus et son objectif était double : justifier d’une expérience professionnelle à l’étranger tout en conservant la possibilité de réaliser deux stages (en 2e et 3e années) « longue durée » dans l’industrie. Pourquoi l'Irlande ? Principalement parce que cette destination anglophone se prête bien à un séjour de courte durée et que ces laboratoires de recherche sont actifs dans le domaine de la photonique.

Pour ma méthodologie de choix, j'ai tout d'abord établi une liste des laboratoires de recherche susceptibles d'accueillir un étudiant étranger. Puis, j’ai obtenu une réponse provenant de l'institut Tyndall localisé à Cork. Il s'agit d'un laboratoire de recherche spécialisé en photonique et microélectronique, ce qui correspondait exactement aux formations suivies à l’Enssat. Je conseille vivement d'initier les démarches dès le mois de janvier et d'étudier en amont les différents contacts existants entre les enseignants-chercheurs à l'Enssat et ailleurs, ça facilitera grandement la recherche. C’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que ma demande a aboutie, le laboratoire FOTON ayant collaboré avec l’institut Tyndall.

Le sujet de mon stage était centré sur la simulation du comportement de lasers à semi-conducteurs*. Il a été enrichi par la découverte des laboratoires ainsi que des conférences. Mon travail a abouti sur la rédaction d’une note destinée à un stagiaire désirant débuter un projet de recherche dans le domaine spécifié. J'encourage toutes celles et ceux qui douteraient encore, de partir à la découverte d'un pays étranger. Il s'agira dans tous les cas d'une expérience valorisable pour l'avenir. Être immergé dans une nouvelle culture au sein d'un laboratoire disposant d'une hiérarchie différente, permet d'acquérir - selon moi - une vision plus « globale ».



* Étude du verrouillage par injection optique de lasers à semi-conducteurs.