Français (French) English
ÉCOLE NATIONALE SUPÉRIEURE DES SCIENCES APPLIQUÉES ET DE TECHNOLOGIE

Potential careers in software and computing

-> click to enlarge

The professional fields of application for computing specialists are plentiful. Computing managing executives make up 15% of all executives in France. Between 2005 and 2015, 207 000 new computing positions were created (statistics source: the 'Centre d'Analyse Stratégique' and DARES, January 2007). Unemployment isn't an issue and higher education graduates are in demand. The software and associated services field wasn't severely affected by the 2009 crisis and remained France's leading recruitment sector for managing executives.

The computing sector is dynamic and experiencing strong, sustained growth. It plays an active, wide-stretching economic and human role in society.  Every day brings new technological advances and applications which generate a need for innovative projects to meet future demand. It is reasonable to expect that the next technological revolutions will be closely linked to a number of predominant factors relating to:

  • the omnipresence of the Internet,
  • the increasing popularity of communication devices (PDAs, pocket PCs, iPhones...) and the development of interactivity between these types of products,
  • the interdependency of information systems and physical acquired data processing (labels, sensors, readers, etc.),
  • the acute nature of security issues,
  • the emergence of enhanced mobility and roaming computer technology enabling increased movement, data exchanges and usage anywhere, at any time,
  • the convergence of multimedia outlets (web, television, PCs, mobile terminals, etc.),
  • etc.

They design or adapt the core software used in hardware systems within the context of specific physical architecture structures. Their work may also focus on the optimisation of physical architectures by promoting the use of cutting-edge technological solutions. They coordinate and oversee the implementation processes.

They are actively involved in defining the specifications, design process and production of software sub-systems to be integrated within physical and software systems.

They develop and implement communication networks through which voice data, images and other data travel. It is their job to overcome the issues presented by distance and the diverse types of systems and software packages being used. As part of their role, they advise and assist by continually remaining on top of technological advances.

As a specialist in the field of communication matters, the engineer installs, manages and ensures company networks operate to optimal efficiency levels. Their key tasks include:

  • selecting, installing and configuring networks
  • managing the network's security requirements
  • integrating new tools, email servers, antivirus software…

Their position represents a strategic investment on the part of the employer meaning they must work in a thorough, prompt and autonomous manner. Computer security is progressively a more noteworthy component of these occupations due to ever-increasing accessibility and user mobility demands.

The primary objective of web computer engineers is to deal with the online website publications featured within the sites they manage. They must:

  • enable access to new content;
  • put forward appealing solutions;
  • make sure ongoing content evolution requirements are met.

Web computer engineers must have the ability to take on board the needs of the numerous professional partners they work with: graphical designers, ergonomists, developers, clients, end users, etc... They must be able to work independently and maintain a keen focus on potential future technological developments.

Multimedia in a general sense and, more specifically, computer games are areas which have their own place within the computing field. These specialised areas call for highly-developed, diverse and rapidly-evolving computer skills such as:

  • development techniques: Internet programming, artificial intelligence;
  • man-to-machine communications: multimode systems using voice-triggered interfacing;
  • machine-to-machine communications: networks, systems, security, multimedia traffic.

Most projects in this field are conducted within multidisciplinary groups made up of people with varied areas of expertise. They require highly-polished technical skillsets and strong innovation abilities.

Français (French)
ÉCOLE NATIONALE SUPÉRIEURE DES SCIENCES APPLIQUÉES ET DE TECHNOLOGIE

Débouchés en « Informatique »

-> cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir

Les champs des applications de l'informatique sont vastes. Les cadres du secteur informatique représentent 15 % des cadres français. L'informatique, avec 207 000 postes à pourvoir de 2005 à 2015 (source Centre d'Analyse Stratégique et DARES, janvier 2007), ne connaît pas le chômage et recherche des diplômés du supérieur. Le secteur des logiciels et des services a bien résisté à la crise de 2009 et a maintenu sa place de premier recruteur des cadres en France.

Le secteur de l'informatique est très dynamique et en forte croissance. Il contribue à l'ensemble de l'activité économique et humaine. Chaque jour voit naître des nouveautés technologiques et de nouveaux usages faisant émerger des projets innovants porteurs d'avenir. Il est pertinent de penser que les prochaines révolutions technologiques seront liées à quelques caractéristiques dominantes comme :

  • l'omniprésence d'internet,
  • la prédominance des objets communicants (PDA, pocket PC, iPhone...) et la dispersion de l'intelligence entre ces objets,
  • l'interdépendance des systèmes d'information et des systèmes physiques traitant de l'acquisition des données (étiquettes, capteurs, lecteurs, etc.),
  • l'acuité des problèmes de sécurité,
  • l'émergence de la mobilité et de l'informatique nomade permettant le transport, l'échange, l'utilisation d'information à tout moment et en tout endroit,
  • la convergence du multimédia (web, télé, PC, terminaux mobiles, etc.),
  • etc.

Il conçoit, ou adapte, les logiciels de base d'un équipement pour les installer dans le cadre d'une architecture matérielle spécifique. Il peut également optimiser l'architecture matérielle en préconisant des solutions tenant compte des possibilités technologiques les plus récentes. Il les coordonne et en suit la mise en place.

Il participe à la définition, à la conception, à la réalisation et à la mise au point des sous-systèmes logiciels qui seront intégrés dans un système comprenant généralement du matériel et du logiciel.

Il met en place et développe les réseaux de communication par lesquels transitent les voix, les images et les données. À lui de résoudre les problèmes liés à la distance, à la diversité des matériels et des logiciels. Dans le cadre d'une mission de conseil et d'assistance, il exerce une veille technologique permanente.

Spécialiste des questions de communication, l'ingénieur réseau installe, gère et assure l'optimisation des réseaux de l'entreprise. Il a pour missions :

  • le choix, l'installation et la configuration du réseau
  • l'administration et la sécurité du réseau
  • l'intégration de nouveaux outils, serveurs de messagerie, antivirus…

Son rôle au sein de l'entreprise est stratégique et il doit faire preuve de rigueur, d'autonomie et de réactivité. La sécurité informatique est un aspect de plus en plus important pour ces métiers en raison des exigences grandissantes d'accessibilité et de mobilité des usagers.

La mission de l'ingénieur Web consiste à piloter la publication en ligne sur les sites qu'il administre. Il doit :

  • permettre la mise à disposition de nouveaux contenus ;
  • proposer des solutions attractives ;
  • s'assurer de l'évolution régulière des contenus.

L'ingénieur Web doit faire preuve d'une capacité d'écoute lui permettant de travailler avec des personnes de métiers divers : graphistes, ergonomes, développeurs, clients, utilisateurs, etc. Il doit être autonome et résolument tourné vers les technologies d'avenir.

Le multimédia en général et les jeux vidéo en particulier sont des domaines d'application occupant une place à part dans le secteur de l'informatique. Ces domaines requièrent des compétences informatiques pointues, très diverses et évoluant rapidement, comme :

  • les techniques de développement : programmation Internet, intelligence artificielle ;
  • la communication homme-machine : interfaces multimodales utilisant la voix ;
  • la communication machine-machine : réseaux, systèmes, sécurité, flux multimédia.

La plupart des projets sont développés au sein d'équipes pluridisciplinaires, aux profils variés. Ils demandent une très bonne maîtrise technique et une forte capacité à innover.