Français (French) English

Staffing structure

Organizational chart

Enssat Organizational chart
-> Click on the image to enlarge

The teaching staff includes 31 teacher-researchers and peers occupying similar positions and 8 lecturers. These staff members work within 4 teams who teach in the four specialised courses (Computing, Photonics, Digital systems, Multimedia and networks computing).

Computer science team 13
Photonics team 9
Digital systems team
Mathematics and social sciences team

The teacher-researchers are actively involved in projects related to the subject they teach, working in one of the school’s research units.

Research units:

  • Foton UMR CNRS 6082 – Photonics systems team
  • IRISA UMR CNRS 6074 : Cairn, Granit, Expression and Shaman teams
  • Rennes INRIA research centre - Bretagne Atlantique : Cairn project team
  • UPRES 2529 : Shine-IETR / TSI2M team

In support of the training and research teams, the administration services encompass:

  • General administration and human resources
  • Management and teaching team secretarial support
  • Management and research administration
  • Financial management, accounting and payroll
  • Student admissions and enrolments
  • International relations
  • Industry relations
  • Communications
  • Library management
  • Reception
  • Photocopying

Playing a key role across all of ENSSAT’s departments (teaching, research, administration), the technical staff team deals with assessing, implementing, maintaining and updating all technical resources and infrastructures required to ensure the school operates correctly.

As part of its role, the technical staff team is fully involved in the assessment process that defines the selection of equipment and facilities, assuming a management role with purchasing. They contribute towards developing industry relations and the fulfilment of research projects, particularly when technological synchronisation and updates are required.


Enssat administration is governed by a select committee made up of 15 elected members and 14 selected individuals. The committee defines the key directives to be applied within the school, in particular the training & research programmes and budgetary decisions. It puts forward a nominee for the position of Director.

The Director, appointed for a term of 5 years, is entrusted with the task of implementing the decisions made by the committee. They are supported by the school’s respective committees and ad hoc commissions when required.

The board of Directors is made up of 10 ex officio members and 7 elected members. It is involved in all key decisions relating to how the school operates in a broad sense. It also contributes towards preparing ENSSAT committee meetings.

It is made up of 6 elected members and 3 members chosen by the Director. It plays an important role with regards to ENSSAT’s research policies, particularly in relation to the assessment of the research backgrounds of teacher-researcher applicants.

The Development Committee is made up of 6 professional figures selected primarily because of their expertise in the specialised fields the school centres their training programme around. They are asked to assess ENSSAT’s training courses, paying particular attention to their economic and social suitability.

The Study Committee is made up of an equal ratio of teaching staff and student-engineers covering the respective specialised fields and years of the syllabus. They are involved in all issues relating to student life and training organisation.

The BIATSS personnel Committee, made up of 10 members, puts forward its opinion in relation to matters pertaining to the professional life and collective issues of BIATSS staff members.